KENSINGTON SQUARE KITCHEN.KENSINGTON.LONDON

KENSINGTON SQUARE KITCHEN IN A NUTSHELL: small but perfectly formed breakfast and brunch place off High Street Kensington

Cuisine: British 
Cost: c.£15 for breakfast incl. drinks 
Address:  9 Kensington Square, London W8 5EP
Tube: High Street Kensington
Reservations: No
Hours: Mon- Fri 8.00AM – 4.30PM Sat 8.30 AM – 4.30PM Sun 9.30AM – 4PM
Phone: +44 (0)20 7938 259

http://www.kensingtonsquarekitchen.co.uk
Location
Kensington Square Kitchen is on a side street away from the hustle and bustle of Kensington High Street. They also have a neighbourhood restaurant on Holland Street called the Terrace, serving British inspired dishes.

The Space
It’s got a very casual and homey but polished look and feel to it, like you’re popping round to a friend’s well groomed home. The space is pretty dinky, housing some tables upstairs and a few more downstairs and you can’t book. However, it’s worth hanging around to get a table.

Food & Service
I used to go here quite a bit when I lived in the area. They consistently nailed their breakfast and it was reasonably priced for the area. My staple breakfast plate was smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and toast and it never disappointed – all the produce just tasted great quality. I don’t remember the service being outstanding but it wasn’t bad either. I definitely miss it and if I happen to find myself in Kensington hungry at breakfast / brunch time I would definitely go here.

Vibe
Crowd is made up mostly of locals I would presume, as its tucked away on a side street, so you’re unlikely to stumble upon it.Very laid back and casual.

Moolah
The produce tastes super fresh and I think it’s quite fairly priced, considering they could probably get away with charging a bit more, based on their location.

Rating
*****V.Good

LAST VISITED JAN 2015

Image from http://www.kensingtonsquarekitchen.co.uk

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment